It is currently Fri Jul 28, 2017 6:58 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Register for Windows Forums


New posts Register

Register for Windows Forums now to gain access to: post messages, download free books, competitions for great prizes, and get to know others. Members also see NO ADVERTS. Join today!




 Page 2 of 4 [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Message Author
 
 Post subject: Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)
New postPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:08 am 

This seems to work pretty well :clap: . I had to create a batch script to run at start-up to start the hostednetwork, even with the fix it was staying "disconnected". Any Ideas on how to make this hotspot SSID invisible? The only way this will work for my application fully is for it to be unseen by the public eye.


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
New Kid on the Block
New Kid on the Block

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:51 am
Posts: 1
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
Location: NY
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)
New postPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:56 pm 

When I run the command I see a network being added to my network list and it says Internet Access for the new network. I see the network on my phone also.
But for some reason the network disappears after 10 sec. I tried Virtual Router also, which I think does the same thing, and it stops also. Do you think windows closes the service?


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
New Kid on the Block
New Kid on the Block

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:52 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)
New postPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:58 pm 

I see a network being added after doing what you wrote. It has internet access also. But it just disappears after 10 sec. I can see it on my phone for only 10 sec. Does windows close the service?


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
New Kid on the Block
New Kid on the Block

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:52 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)
New postPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:16 am 

How do I get wifi in a room in my house? I have wifi in every room in my house, but 2. I have realized that I now need wifi in those 2 rooms. How do I get wifi in those rooms?


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
New Kid on the Block
New Kid on the Block

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 6:18 am
Posts: 1
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
Location: kolkata
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)
New postPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:53 pm 

I've followed the instructions and I can set up the ssid, change the hostednetwork mode to "allow" and I'm getting Wireless Network Connection 2 showing up in my adapters list, but when I try and start the hosted network I get,

"The hosted netwrok couldn't be started. The group or resource is not in the correct state to perform the requested operation."

I'm on an HP G62 Notebook with an Atheros AR9285 wifi adapter with the latest driver installed (9.2.0.310.) Acording to http://virtualrouter.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Supported%20Devices my adapter is supported, and when I use the "netsh wlan show drivers" command it tells me that Hosted network supported: Yes. I've even installed the linked hotfix, but I'm still not having any luck (although there are about a dozen hotfixes, and I'm not sure if I got the right one or how to check.)


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Familiar Face
Familiar Face

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:37 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)
New postPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:00 pm 

@ruh roh
Whilst i don't have a fix for your network issue. Here's a command you can use to check which Hotfixes are installed on the system. It'll save the list to your Desktop.

systeminfo | find "KB" >%userprofile%\Desktop\Hotfix_List.txt



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Windows Guru²
Windows Guru²

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:08 am
Posts: 3186
Thanks given: 375 times
Thanks received: 441 times
Location: 0x7C00
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)
New postPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 1:17 am 

Thanks Stu, but that output file comes out blank. Does that mean the hotfix didn't install, or am I using that command wrong? Do I just open up Command Prompt as an admin and type that in, or do I need to do it differently?


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Familiar Face
Familiar Face

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:37 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)
New postPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 8:16 am 

Just open up a command prompt and enter in systeminfo. It should display a list of all hotfixes on the system. I don't think you need admin privs.

Image



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Windows Guru²
Windows Guru²

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:08 am
Posts: 3186
Thanks given: 375 times
Thanks received: 441 times
Location: 0x7C00
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)
New postPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:30 am 

Ok, so it looks like I have hotfix KB2496820 on my PC. That's also the file that Microsoft sends me when I d/l the hotfix from the link in the article. (Windows6.1-KB2496820-x64.msu)

But the download link that I get when I try to install the hotfix from the link in the article says the file is Windows 7/Windows Server2008 R2 SP1, and it says the Fix Name is: Fix 362872.

Is that right? Is Fix 362872 just a different name for KB2496820?

I don't even know if any of this is going to make a difference. The only way I can see this being able to change my situation is if the link in the article is wrong, or after that, Microsoft is sending me to the wrong file and I havent got the correct hotfix for this problem. Any other ideas on what could be causing hostednetwork to be unable to start?


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Familiar Face
Familiar Face

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:37 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)
New postPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:40 pm 

Well... to make all the fuss go away, have you thought of going back to a restore point where/when you did not have that HotFix?

KB is Knowledge Base with a number where the Hotfix under that KB is a list of known issues that was fixed.

Again, going back to a Restore Point is usually an easier solution to start over and figure out what's actually causing the issues...



_________________
~Rick
Quote: "If at first you don't succeed, Destroy all evidences you have tried"
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Windows Guru
Windows Guru

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:38 am
Posts: 1306
Thanks given: 33 times
Thanks received: 137 times
Location: Underworld Realm
OS: 8 Pro
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 4 [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: