Windows Forums
http://forum.mintywhite.com/

Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)
http://forum.mintywhite.com/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=6674
Page 4 of 4

Author:  mushfiq20 [ Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)

when i give this command netsh wlan start hostednetwork they say The hosted network couldn't be started. A device attached to the system is not functioning . i am using win 7 ultimate 32 bit on a dell vostro laptop. i have updated the drivers... but no luck...

Author:  shahzadrf [ Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:17 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)

i did exactly as u said...every thing is fine but still i cant access net
i am using a wireless usb modem...
when i go under networking and sharing center it shows no connection as mobile broadband to our virtual wifi
plz help me

Author:  shahzadrf [ Fri Jan 06, 2012 6:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)

hello.
im using vodafone mobile braodband modem (usb stick)
i did the same procedure.the conection status is shared but when i find on other computer there is no conection name which i configured in the procudure Myname..
what is the problem and what to do?
plz help me
thanx

Author:  prakashpatodia [ Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)

hi.. i have set up the connection as given... the challenge that I am facing are

1. the wi fi netowrk on my phone constantly says acquiring ip address from my computer's wifi...every 10 seconds it will say obtaining ip address....

I am using a cable connection with a user name and passwrd. There is no static ip that i have.

Can you please help me resolve this problem.

Regards,
Prakash

Author:  netxman [ Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)

Hi, I'm new here.

I got the problem about setting win7 wifi hotspot and it's weird,very weird which is bothering me long long time.

I set up the Microsoft Virtual WiFi follow the instruction. Set up Internet connection sharing perfectly.

And ran these commands:

netsh wlan set hostednetwork mode=allow ssid=win7 key=password

netsh wlan start hostednetwork

I can use another laptop to find the wifi signal and connected it and surf the internet. Also for my android device.

All things seem worked fine.

But several days later... I can only connect to the win7 wifi hotspot but cannnot use Internet.

I checked and re-configured all settings, same problem.

Ping from win7 to android device are available.

D:\>ping 192.168.137.189

Pinging 192.168.137.189 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.137.189: bytes=32 time=152ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.137.189: bytes=32 time=59ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.137.189: bytes=32 time=290ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.137.189: bytes=32 time=214ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.137.189:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 59ms, Maximum = 290ms, Average = 178ms


I tried to set dns 8.8.8.8 for the Virtual Adapter, problem persists.

I have no third-party firewall installed and I didn't install any software during those days.

So I have no idea, even don't know where and how to start analyzing.

please help on this,thanks.

Author:  goodgame64 [ Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)

Hello, I have a major problem, I want this connection because I want internet on my PSP, and preferably my DS aswell, but when I set up this connection and type [i]netsh wlan show hostednetwork[i] it says that it has WPA2-personal security, which neither of the machines support, and when I go into the place where you change connection settings, I can't change the hostednetwork settings.
Please help! I'd like to change it to WEP, but WPA would be ok aswell.

Author:  muyaad [ Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Set Windows 7 as Wifi Hotspot (HELPLINE)

I have everything configured correctly and it show that I have internet access but when connected from either ipad or blackberry both connect with easy but they can't pull internet from that connection. network shared but not the internet.
So, where is the problem?

Page 4 of 4 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/