It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:54 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Register for Windows Forums


New posts Register

Register for Windows Forums now to gain access to: post messages, download free books, competitions for great prizes, and get to know others. Members also see NO ADVERTS. Join today!




Message Author
 
 Post subject: Dell inspirion 6000 memory question
New postPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 8:54 am 

I wonder if some kind person can help me
do I need to have 2 of the same RAM memory chips in my inspiron when I upgrade it?
and how do you tell?
I have done numerous searches and have not found the answer

in other words, it curently has 2 X 256Mb chips = 512Mb RAM and I want to upgrade
so, should I get 2 X 512Mb? or 2 X 1Gb? or can I just buy one single 1Gb memeory chip?

Thank you


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 3:03 am
Posts: 74
Thanks given: 12 times
Thanks received: 1 times
Location: Japan
OS: 8
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Dell inspirion 6000 memory question  Topic is solved
New postPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:18 am 

I'm no expert as to what is best and what'll will yield best performance. but i do know that you could have 1 x 1GB or 2 x 512MB. Check out crucial.com.



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Windows Guru²
Windows Guru²

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:08 am
Posts: 3186
Thanks given: 375 times
Thanks received: 441 times
Location: 0x7C00
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Dell inspirion 6000 memory question
New postPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:29 am 

ok thanks. I found the answer there


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 3:03 am
Posts: 74
Thanks given: 12 times
Thanks received: 1 times
Location: Japan
OS: 8
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Dell inspirion 6000 memory question
New postPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 10:03 am 

Which was.........



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Windows Guru²
Windows Guru²

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:08 am
Posts: 3186
Thanks given: 375 times
Thanks received: 441 times
Location: 0x7C00
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Dell inspirion 6000 memory question
New postPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:23 pm 

They recommend you have two identical chips, and make sure you check your PC's manual to make sure you aren't going over the maximum supported RAM. The motherboard will only recognize so much.



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Top Content Contributor
Top Content Contributor

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 11:28 am
Posts: 836
Thanks given: 9 times
Thanks received: 100 times
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
OS: 8 Pro
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Dell inspirion 6000 memory question
New postPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:07 am 
For this post the author smurf1 has received gratitude : Stu

rsvr85 wrote:
Which was.........


The following is from Crucial.com
http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs ... 7FA5CA7304

Chipset: Intel 915GM
Maximum Memory: 2048MB
Slots: 2 (2 banks of 1)
Standard Memory: 512MB removable
USB Support: 2.x Compliant

Q: Will my system recognize the maximum upgrade?
A: Possibly. How much memory your Windows OS will recognize depends on which version of Windows you are running. 32-bit versions of Windows will see (and utilize) only 3GB or 3.5GB. To utilize more memory, install a 64-bit version of your OS.

Q: What memory goes into my computer, and will a faster speed be backward-compatible?
A: DDR2 memory with support for DDR2 PC2-5300 speeds.

Q: How much memory can my computer handle?
A: 2048MB. Adding the maximum amount of memory will improve performance and help extend the useful life of your system as you run increasingly demanding software applications in the future.

Q: Do I have to install matching pairs?
A: No. No, you can install modules one at a time, and you can mix different densities of modules in your computer. But if your computer supports dual-channel memory configurations, you should install in identical pairs (preferably in kits) for optimal performance.


Q: Does my computer support dual-channel memory?
A: No. Your system does not support dual channel.

Q: Does my computer support ECC memory?
A: No. Your system does not support dual channel


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 3:03 am
Posts: 74
Thanks given: 12 times
Thanks received: 1 times
Location: Japan
OS: 8
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: