It is currently Mon Oct 16, 2017 10:05 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Register for Windows Forums


New posts Register

Register for Windows Forums now to gain access to: post messages, download free books, competitions for great prizes, and get to know others. Members also see NO ADVERTS. Join today!




 Page 2 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Message Author
 
 Post subject: Re: Guinea Pigs Required Please.
New postPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:16 am 

Quote:
Is the .dll file in sysWOW or system32?


Ah system32. There is no cardgames.dll in the syswow64 on either of my computers. If its named something else let me know and I'll upload it asap.



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Highly Valued Member
Highly Valued Member

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:45 am
Posts: 191
Thanks given: 38 times
Thanks received: 19 times
Location: Australia
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Guinea Pigs Required Please.
New postPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:37 am 

Ok, i can't see why it wouldn't work for x64 as the file locations are exactly the same as x86 (but i'm no programmer and not on x64 atm so cannot be 100% sure).

It you're willing to test, download this file,
Attachment:
W7CGP02.zip

copy it to %windir%\system32, take ownership of %windir%\system32\CardGames.dll
takeown %windir%\system32\CardGames.dll && icacls %windir%\system32\CardGames.dll /GRANT Administrator:F

And then run W7CGP02.exe as administrator.

Thanks for your help so far :D



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Windows Guru²
Windows Guru²

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:08 am
Posts: 3186
Thanks given: 375 times
Thanks received: 441 times
Location: 0x7C00
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Guinea Pigs Required Please.
New postPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:10 am 

No problem, glad I can be help :D

I followed the previous instructions and no matter what I did (I took ownership first just the .dll then the editor thing ran it as admin and not as admin rebooted tried again etc.) it kept coming up with the same message as shown below.

Image

PS: They're in the same folder just showed side by side to show that they are both there.
PSS: I'll try tomorrow at Uni and hope it'll work there ;)



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Highly Valued Member
Highly Valued Member

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:45 am
Posts: 191
Thanks given: 38 times
Thanks received: 19 times
Location: Australia
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Guinea Pigs Required Please.
New postPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:39 am 

OK, this is a little out of my scope now. For now, i'll be concentrating for x86. Sorry for all you x64 users! :)



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Windows Guru²
Windows Guru²

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:08 am
Posts: 3186
Thanks given: 375 times
Thanks received: 441 times
Location: 0x7C00
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Guinea Pigs Required Please.
New postPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:42 am 

No problem. Might install it on a 32bit from somewhere to try it. It's a great idea. Never really though about trying to mod solitaire :D.



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Highly Valued Member
Highly Valued Member

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:45 am
Posts: 191
Thanks given: 38 times
Thanks received: 19 times
Location: Australia
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Guinea Pigs Required Please.
New postPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:10 am 

Does the program install anything to Program files (can't remember.) If so, it should install to Program Files (x86) for 64 bit users. Sorry I'm not much help -- on 64 bit XP at the moment.



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Windows Guru²
Windows Guru²

Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 8:33 pm
Posts: 2813
Thanks given: 424 times
Thanks received: 213 times
OS: 8 Pro
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Guinea Pigs Required Please.
New postPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:22 am 

Yeah it should install to %programfiles%, does it change by default on a x64 machine?



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Windows Guru²
Windows Guru²

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:08 am
Posts: 3186
Thanks given: 375 times
Thanks received: 441 times
Location: 0x7C00
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Guinea Pigs Required Please.
New postPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:30 am 

%programfiles% on x64 is C:\Program Files\

This would need to install to C:\Program Files (x86)\ as it's 32-bit.



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Windows Guru²
Windows Guru²

Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 8:33 pm
Posts: 2813
Thanks given: 424 times
Thanks received: 213 times
OS: 8 Pro
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Guinea Pigs Required Please.
New postPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:39 am 

True....
That doesn't explain why W7CGP02.exe doesn't work in %windir%\system32 though.
I think i'll have to package up both changes in the .dll as opposed to trying to patch both.



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Windows Guru²
Windows Guru²

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:08 am
Posts: 3186
Thanks given: 375 times
Thanks received: 441 times
Location: 0x7C00
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  

cron