It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:26 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Register for Windows Forums


New posts Register

Register for Windows Forums now to gain access to: post messages, download free books, competitions for great prizes, and get to know others. Members also see NO ADVERTS. Join today!




 Page 2 of 2 [ 14 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Message Author
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool
New postPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:54 pm 

LOL wow, you really have got problems...

Anyway, try this

Go to start menu and in the search box type in cmd and press Ctrl + Shift + Enter

Click yes

Type in the command prompt > net user administrator /active:yes > Then Hit Enter

Close the cmd window

Log off and then Log back in then try again.


Or

Open regedit

Navigate to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\wcncsvc

Right click on wcncsvc Then Click "Permissions" and make sure, you have full control of that key.


Or

Go Start and in the search box type in > services.msc then Hit Enter.

In services window find Security Center service, Right Click on it then Click Properties and set Startup type to Automatic and then Restart Computer.


Other Info

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2271812
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/943996
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... e56c2a51aa
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 3926816997


Let us know how you get on, also if you have Microsoft Security Essentials Installed, Uninstall it and then Reinstall.



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Top Content Contributor
Top Content Contributor

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 565
Thanks given: 47 times
Thanks received: 132 times
Location: UK
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool
New postPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:10 pm 

With a restore point I was able to get my Security Center back and now I've removed Wise and Registry Booster. I'm looking into how they can help in the future as I did get a few errors (system restore did not complete successfully).

I had to get rid of the Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool from the system tray again but now I knew what was causing it.

I'm still reading that article you offered earlier and thanks for passing it along.

This has been a good experience albeit a rough learning lesson. Thanks again. :thumbup:


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Familiar Face
Familiar Face

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:33 am
Posts: 7
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
Location: Zionsville, IN
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool
New postPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:13 pm 

Oh ok lol that's you sorted then?

And your welcome ;-)



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Top Content Contributor
Top Content Contributor

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 565
Thanks given: 47 times
Thanks received: 132 times
Location: UK
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool
New postPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:24 pm 

I attached what I see when I go to a DOS prompt. I always thought this proved I'm an admin. It's what I see if I press
Ctrl + Shift + Enter as well (like when I turn on UAC).

I used the command net user administrator /active:yes - I tried to see how my account was set now.
Before it said
Account active No
and after
Account active Yes

So I wasn't a true admin? Or is it just a Superuser account I should turn off?

Admins and System have full control of HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\wcncsvc. Users have Read access. Creator Owner has Read to subkeys only.

Security Center service, was already set to Automatic.

The other URLs you sent were interesting.

The uninstall and reinstall of MSE seemed to go ok. I turned off my wi-fi while I did it just in case ;) . I am going to run DDS.COM in about eight days to see if it gives any error messages. MSE said I was but the attach.txt file said there were errors in getting the updates. Interesting to see what it will say then.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Familiar Face
Familiar Face

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:33 am
Posts: 7
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
Location: Zionsville, IN
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2 [ 14 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  

cron