It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:27 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Register for Windows Forums


New posts Register

Register for Windows Forums now to gain access to: post messages, download free books, competitions for great prizes, and get to know others. Members also see NO ADVERTS. Join today!




 Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 
Message Author
 
 Post subject: XP will only work with very low resolution
New postPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 3:34 pm 

posting.php?mode=post&f=7# Hello all, I need some help with my desk top PC running XP SP3 the problem is that I can't set the resolution beyond 640 X 480 - 4 bit. I can raise the resolution but when I select apply and ok it immediately reverts back to 640X480 at 4bits. I have started the PC in 'safe-mode' and all seems to work OK and i'm able to set it up at 800X600 16 or 32bit. It's possible that the problem occurred subsequent to installing windows updates - but I can't be sure about that. The video card is NVIDEA GeForce 6200SE the processor is a pentium 4 3GHz with 1.5 GHz of ram.
I hope you guys can be of some assistance PLEASE. Desperate posting.php?mode=post&f=7#


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Familiar Face
Familiar Face

Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:08 am
Posts: 5
Thanks given: 2 times
Thanks received: 0 times
Location: London
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: XP will only work with very low resolution
New postPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:58 am 
For this post the author ha14 has received gratitude : Kelson

try to uninstall / reinstall graphic driver


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Content Contributor
Content Contributor

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:29 am
Posts: 459
Thanks given: 3 times
Thanks received: 51 times
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: XP will only work with very low resolution
New postPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 1:06 pm 

Many thanks for the reply and yes you you were spot-on with graphic drivers-I Did continue to tinker about with it and replacing the drivers did answer call.
I should have posted the details but my short term memory is shot [probably due to all the booze over the years]
Many thanks once again.


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Familiar Face
Familiar Face

Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:08 am
Posts: 5
Thanks given: 2 times
Thanks received: 0 times
Location: London
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  

cron