It is currently Sun Aug 19, 2018 4:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Register for Windows Forums


New posts Register

Register for Windows Forums now to gain access to: post messages, download free books, competitions for great prizes, and get to know others. Members also see NO ADVERTS. Join today!




 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 
Message Author
 
 Post subject: CRC error in Windows
New postPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 6:21 am 

Hello Everyone,

I am using Windows XP.It was working fine But before two days ago when I started it and tried to copy some data from a CD,It was showing an error of Cyclic Redandancy. I have tried to copy again But I was failed.

Does anyone know about this?? and how to solve it??



_________________
anthony morrison
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
New Kid on the Block
New Kid on the Block

Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:23 am
Posts: 3
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: CRC error in Windows  Topic is solved
New postPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:00 pm 
For this post the author Ang087 has received gratitude : Rich

I found this information at Buzzle.com. From what is stated, there could be a number of reasons. There could be some dirt or a scratch on your CD or your CD drive where you insert the CD might have some dust or dirt in it that needs to be cleaned or wiped off. There's also a few more solutions listed if that's not the problem.

http://www.buzzle.com/articles/fix-cyclic-redundancy-check-error.html

I hope this helps and good luck! :)



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Contributor
Contributor
Highly Valued Member
Highly Valued Member

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:17 am
Posts: 172
Thanks given: 43 times
Thanks received: 33 times
Location: USA
OS: Server 2003
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: CRC error in Windows
New postPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 7:16 am 
For this post the author robinson has received gratitude : Ang087

Thanks to give solution Its very helpful for me.I have problem a scratch on your CD and CD drive where insert the CD have some dust so clean the dust.My problem was solved.Now the crc error in window not display.



_________________
r4 sdhc
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
New Kid on the Block
New Kid on the Block

Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 6:35 am
Posts: 4
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 1 times
Location: australia
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: CRC error in Windows
New postPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 10:55 pm 

It could be that the FILE itself is corrupted. The Check-sum file must meet and calculate the same from A to B while it transfers.

If you recently downloaded a file and tried to burn to a CD/DVD and you get a CRC, it could be that the file itself is corrupted....

Check the HASH file MD5 is the same after you download it. Most, or many sites gives the MD5 hash file number, and sometimes you need to recalculate that file again to ensure file integrity is the same when transferring to a CD/DVD.

http://www.freedownloadscenter.com/Util ... nload.html

I always check the files integrity before importing, or exporting files to ensure integrity is not corrupted.

Regards



_________________
~Rick
Quote: "If at first you don't succeed, Destroy all evidences you have tried"
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Windows Guru
Windows Guru

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:38 am
Posts: 1306
Thanks given: 33 times
Thanks received: 137 times
Location: Underworld Realm
OS: 8 Pro
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: CRC error in Windows
New postPosted: Sat May 15, 2010 9:55 am 

Quote:
Thanks to give solution Its very helpful for me.I have problem a scratch on your CD and CD drive where insert the CD have some dust so clean the dust.My problem was solved.Now the crc error in window not display.


robinson, I'm glad the article helped you to resolve the problem. :)



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Contributor
Contributor
Highly Valued Member
Highly Valued Member

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:17 am
Posts: 172
Thanks given: 43 times
Thanks received: 33 times
Location: USA
OS: Server 2003
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: CRC error in Windows
New postPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:21 am 

ITGeekRC wrote:
It could be that the FILE itself is corrupted. The Check-sum file must meet and calculate the same from A to B while it transfers.

If you recently downloaded a file and tried to burn to a CD/DVD and you get a CRC, it could be that the file itself is corrupted....

Check the HASH file MD5 is the same after you download it. Most, or many sites gives the MD5 hash file number, and sometimes you need to recalculate that file again to ensure file integrity is the same when transferring to a CD/DVD.

http://www.freedownloadscenter.com/Util ... nload.html

I always check the files integrity before importing, or exporting files to ensure integrity is not corrupted.

Regards

I prefer to use HashTab to check file's checksum. Just right-click on a file an click Properties, then click File Hashes tab.

If you want to display more hashes algorithms, just right-click on the table, click Settings... and select your preferred hash algorithms.

Download http://beeblebrox.org/


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Established Member
Established Member

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:48 am
Posts: 12
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
Location: Yogyakarta, Indonesia
OS: Vista Starter
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: CRC error in Windows
New postPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 9:47 am 

stephenhope wrote:
Hello Everyone,

I am using Windows XP.It was working fine But before two days ago when I started it and tried to copy some data from a CD,It was showing an error of Cyclic Redandancy. I have tried to copy again But I was failed.

Does anyone know about this?? and how to solve it??


I'll assume you used explorer to copy the data?
If so, try and copy it from the command prompt. Use the parameter which allows the copy to complete even if there are errors.

for example;
xcopy /c /-y C:\Users\Bob\Desktop\test.txt D:\Test


It's worth a shot. If it does copy, make sure the files work as they should before binning the cd.



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Windows Guru²
Windows Guru²

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:08 am
Posts: 3186
Thanks given: 375 times
Thanks received: 441 times
Location: 0x7C00
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: CRC error in Windows
New postPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:47 am 

Laque wrote:
ITGeekRC wrote:
It could be that the FILE itself is corrupted. The Check-sum file must meet and calculate the same from A to B while it transfers.

If you recently downloaded a file and tried to burn to a CD/DVD and you get a CRC, it could be that the file itself is corrupted....

Check the HASH file MD5 is the same after you download it. Most, or many sites gives the MD5 hash file number, and sometimes you need to recalculate that file again to ensure file integrity is the same when transferring to a CD/DVD.

http://www.freedownloadscenter.com/Util ... nload.html

I always check the files integrity before importing, or exporting files to ensure integrity is not corrupted.

Regards

I prefer to use HashTab to check file's checksum. Just right-click on a file an click Properties, then click File Hashes tab.

If you want to display more hashes algorithms, just right-click on the table, click Settings... and select your preferred hash algorithms.

Download http://beeblebrox.org/



Oh yeah, I have that too...in Forensics, we are supposed to use different tools to Validate the Hash to confirm it's integrity and consistencies.

Hash Checksum is good.



_________________
~Rick
Quote: "If at first you don't succeed, Destroy all evidences you have tried"
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Windows Guru
Windows Guru

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:38 am
Posts: 1306
Thanks given: 33 times
Thanks received: 137 times
Location: Underworld Realm
OS: 8 Pro
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: CRC error in Windows
New postPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 4:22 am 

put some other cd and run it , clean ur cd rom there may some dust on it ,


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Established Member
Established Member

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 7:49 am
Posts: 15
Thanks given: 0 times
Thanks received: 0 times
Location: asa
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: