It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:20 am


All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Register for Windows Forums


New posts Register

Register for Windows Forums now to gain access to: post messages, download free books, competitions for great prizes, and get to know others. Members also see NO ADVERTS. Join today!




Message Author
 
 Post subject: Sfc /scannow won't run at all :(
New postPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 5:33 pm 

Here's what I do: I click on the Start orb, type cmd, right-click on cmd.exe and click on Run as administrator. In the DOS-style window I type sfc /scannow and press Enter. I get the message "Beginning system scan. This process will take some time." After about 2 seconds more I see "Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation." and I'm returned to the C:\Windows\system32> prompt.

I've googled everything I can think of but there isn't anything I've tried that makes it work. Is there a fix for it? Or is there a third-party program (preferably freeware) that can substitute for it? Thanks!

Frank

Here's a screenshot: http://gyazo.com/fefb3f66da8779ef41fa6de80d7c8b6c


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Frequent Member
Frequent Member

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 41
Thanks given: 30 times
Thanks received: 6 times
Location: New York, USA
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Sfc /scannow won't run at all :(
New postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:03 am 
For this post the author Makcalable has received gratitude : Frank D

I think I know what your problem might be Frank

Firstly apart from this what else seems to be the problem, are you getting issues with system files or anything??

When you open Command Prompt as Administrator you get the Command windows and when you type in sfc /scannow I don't think you putting a space between the sfc and the /

If I am wrong then please report back ;-)

Go HERE and copy and paste the sfc /scannow into the command window see if that does the trick ;-)

If that fails try using a Windows Recovery DVD or even better a Windows 7 Install DVD and go to the System Recovery Option and select command prompt from there and try it that way.



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Top Content Contributor
Top Content Contributor

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 565
Thanks given: 47 times
Thanks received: 132 times
Location: UK
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Sfc /scannow won't run at all :(
New postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:29 am 

Makcalable,

Thanks for the reply.

I always put a space between the command and the switch ("sfc /scannow") so that can't be the answer to the problem.

I'll give your other suggestion a try.

Frank


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Frequent Member
Frequent Member

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 41
Thanks given: 30 times
Thanks received: 6 times
Location: New York, USA
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Sfc /scannow won't run at all :(
New postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:06 pm 
For this post the author Rick has received gratitude : Frank D

Check here... http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 5c7bf1614e

It will show you how to create a log so you can pin point the specific problem.... Than go from there...

FYI... I am already Administrator... If your using other than Administrator access account..Perhaps you should add the Administrators in the "Member of:" section...

I ran the sfc /scannow with no problems, not even running as Administrator....



_________________
~Rick
Quote: "If at first you don't succeed, Destroy all evidences you have tried"
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Windows Guru
Windows Guru

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:38 am
Posts: 1306
Thanks given: 33 times
Thanks received: 137 times
Location: Underworld Realm
OS: 8 Pro
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Sfc /scannow won't run at all :(
New postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:38 pm 
For this post the author UVAIS has received gratitude : Frank D

Please try in safe mod

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 5c7bf1614e (Edit : Rick already talked about this link :P )

Or use same command in Hidden Admin acc ;

for activate your Hidden Admin acc

Run CMD as Admin and use this command

net user administrator /active:yes


You will see msg like this

Image

now try to run from Hidden Admin acc

:thumbup:



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Contributor
Contributor
Windows Guru
Windows Guru

Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:08 pm
Posts: 1505
Thanks given: 121 times
Thanks received: 263 times
Location: UVAIS-PC
OS: 7 Ultimate
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Sfc /scannow won't run at all :(
New postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:38 pm 

Makcalable,
re:
Makcalable wrote:
. . . try using a Windows Recovery DVD or even better a Windows 7 Install DVD and go to the System Recovery Option and select command prompt from there and try it that way.

I used my Windows Install DVD (with SP1), went to the command prompt and used the command (with the space included), and I received the exact same failure message. :?

Frank


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Frequent Member
Frequent Member

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 41
Thanks given: 30 times
Thanks received: 6 times
Location: New York, USA
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Sfc /scannow won't run at all :(
New postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:47 pm 

Rick wrote:
Check here... http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 5c7bf1614e

It will show you how to create a log so you can pin point the specific problem.... Than go from there...

Rick,
Thanks. I've already gone through that procedure. The CBS file it produced was completely blank, meaning the sfc failed to run at all. :(


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Frequent Member
Frequent Member

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 41
Thanks given: 30 times
Thanks received: 6 times
Location: New York, USA
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Sfc /scannow won't run at all :(
New postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:55 pm 

UVAIS,
re:
UVAIS wrote:
Please try in safe mode
Or use same command in Hidden Admin acc ;
Run CMD as Admin and use this command
net user administrator /active:yes


I tried both of your suggestions but unfortunately got the exact same response in each case. :cry:

Frank


Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Frequent Member
Frequent Member

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:17 pm
Posts: 41
Thanks given: 30 times
Thanks received: 6 times
Location: New York, USA
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Sfc /scannow won't run at all :(
New postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:10 pm 

Then perhaps you have a corrupted system? Have you tried doing a Restore Point or do a chkdsk /r command?



_________________
~Rick
Quote: "If at first you don't succeed, Destroy all evidences you have tried"
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Windows Guru
Windows Guru

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:38 am
Posts: 1306
Thanks given: 33 times
Thanks received: 137 times
Location: Underworld Realm
OS: 8 Pro
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
 
 Post subject: Re: Sfc /scannow won't run at all :(
New postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:11 pm 

Ok Frank I would then go for a startup Repair using the Windows 7 Install DVD
.

What to do is follow this short Guide only up until the point of the Startup Repair step by step ends.

Click Here


And check out Here too

Also it is possible that there is software that maybe conflicting with the sfc /scannow also.

Are you getting any specific error codes?

Could you also check out the Event Viewer to see if you have any error codes or information in there about your issue.


You can try this also

This can sometimes happens if the TrustedInstaller (Windows Modules Installer) service is or has been disabled;

1. Click Start, type Services.msc

2. Double Click Windows Modules Installer

3. Set its Startup type to Manual

4. Click OK.



_________________
Image
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
User avatar
Top Content Contributor
Top Content Contributor

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 565
Thanks given: 47 times
Thanks received: 132 times
Location: UK
OS: 8 RT
 Profile E-mail  
 
Offline
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: